Fitness Guru   

Amino Acids and Protein

Proteins are comprised of amino acids. They can be broken down into two types, essential and non-essential amino acids.

Essential Amino Acids

There are 9 essential amino acids. They are considered "essential" because the human body cannot manufacture them so they must be attained through food or supplements. These 9 essential amino acids are:

L-Histidine (C6H9N3O2)

L-Isoleucine (C6H13NO2)

L-Leucine (C6H13NO2)

L-Lysine (C6H14N2O2)

L-Methionine (C5H11NO2S)

L-Phenylalanine (C9H11NO2)

L-Threonine (C4H9NO3)

L-Tryptophan (C11H12N2O2)

L-Valine (C5H11NO2)

Of the above nine; L-Leucine, L-Valine and L-Isoleucine are called the Branched Chain Amino Acids (BCAA).

Non-Essential Amino Acids

There are 11 nonessential amino acids - they aren't considered "nonessential" due to any nutritional reasons - it is just that the body can manufacture them on its own. These nonessential amino acids are:

L-Alanine (C3H7NO2)

L-Arginine (C6H14N4O2)

L-Asparagine (C4H8N2O3)

L-Aspartic acid (C4H7NO4)

L-Cysteine (C3H7NO2S)

L-Glutamic acid (C5H9NO4)

L-Glutamine (C5H10N2O3)

Glycine (C2H5NO2)

L-Proline (C5H9NO2)

L-Serine (C3H7NO3)

L-Tyrosine (C9H11NO3)

Fitness Guru 2003-16 | Privacy Policy & Disclaimer | Fitness Guru Site Map